School Improvement Board

A School Improvement Board (SIB) has been constituted as determined by Emmanuel Schools Foundation. The SIB will act as committee of the Foundation. The purpose of the SIB is to provide support and challenge to the school on behalf of the Foundation. It will achieve this through providing strategic direction at a local level, promoting high standards and educational achievement. The SIB will work in partnership with the Principal, the Senior Leadership Team, and executive team from the Foundation. The SIB’s terms of reference can be located here.

Any enquiries, issues or concerns relating to Joseph Swan Academy should be raised with the Principal or his staff in the first instance; however parents are free to write to the Chair of the SIB, if they so wish. If parents would like to contact any of the Governors, please telephone Reception or email the Academy or write to Miss C Taylor, Company Secretary, Trinity House, Sixth Avenue, Blyth, NE24 2SY.

A list of the SIB governors is show below:-

Mr Don Hutton 01/04/2019 Chairman and Health and Safety
Mrs Helen Harold 01/04/2019  
Mrs Aileen Conlon 01/04/2019 Safeguarding
Mr Mark Wilson 01/04/2019  
Mr Steven Bates 01/04/2019 Stakeholder Engagement
Mrs Julie Morrow 01/04/2019  
Mr Richard Grant 01/04/2019 Ethos


Name Role
Professor Mark Pike CEO
Mr Darren Warburton Finance Director
Miss Christine Taylor Company Secretary Data Protection Officer

Governance functions are delegated to the SIB by the Foundation Board. The details of the delegation are contained within a scheme of delegation  which can be found in the Governance section of the Foundation website.

Governance attendance at SIB meetings can be located here.

Emmanuel Schools Foundation

The structure of Emmanuel Schools Foundation can be found in the Governance section of the ESF website and the memorandum and articles of association of ESF can be found here.

The Board of Directors can be found on the ESF website.

The ESF Funding Agreement can be found here.

Joseph Swans Academy’s novated Funding Agreement can be found here.

The current members of Emmanuel Schools Foundation can be found here.